The CV is in. Let the constant guard of the phone and email begin.

Today a new phase of waiting starts.

After lying fallow for a year and a half my CV was pulled out and polished up to make me look like a promising teaching applicant. Hopefully I was more successful at this than I think I was. There really seems to be far too much admin work, and far too little teaching, which lets face it is the reality of my work history. I just hope that I show enough potential in my application to score some interviews. Once I’ve got their captive audience I’m sure I can win them over with my charm.

In today’s blog I intend to summarise nice and succinctly what it is I hope to be doing in Korea. I have made a number of attempts at this, but it’s REALLY hard to do. So in trying my bestest to be direct and to the point I will have to cut out the entertainment for now. No doubt I’ll still leave a lot of questions unanswered, but at least we will have made some progress.

Today I submitted my CV to an agency that recruits applicants for the Seoul Metropolitan Office of Education. If accepted I would have to be in Seoul (which is the capital of South Korea) by the 19 February 2012. I would participate in an orientation with other new teachers then begin teaching at the start of March. In this programme I would be teaching in a public primary school. I would work fairly normal office hours Monday – Friday with 22.5 teaching hours. The school would provide my accommodation, a salary of 1.8-2.0 million won/month, pay half of my insurance, reimburse my airfares etc. In applying to SMOE I won’t be able to choose the specific school I would work at, so I would not know until I was placed what suburb I’d be in, what my accommodation would be like etc. I’ll definitely post about these things as they become clearer.

Feburary 19 places me on a very tight schedule, one which I may find is just not doable. To be eligible for this programme I must have a degree. I will be finishing my Bachelor of Arts mid November. As graduation in March will be far too late to get my certificate I will have to request special documents from Massey once my marks are released to say I have met the requirements of my degree. These then have to be verified and sent various places in order for me to get a job and a Visa. The SMOE programme is apparently quite popular and they place people on a first in first served basis, so the earliest I can get these documents may prove to be too late.

If I am too late for SMOE I have a couple of options (as I don’t want to wait around for their August intake). I could try and get a public school job in another South Korean city, the smaller ones being less popular, so likely to be accepting applicants after SMOE. I’ve really got my heart set on Seoul, so I’ll only explore this option more if I have to. My other option is to try and get work in a private school known as a Hagwon. Because Hagwons are not centrally controlled the conditions there are much more diverse. There is the potential to score a really awesome job, but there are also a lot more risks. The main deterrent for me is the working week. Hagwons generally operate in the evenings, and sometimes on the weekends. In a city where things are happening 24hours this isn’t really a problem, but I just think that I operate better when I work in the day then have the night at my disposal.

Apparently the next stage in the process is for someone from the agency to contact me and arrange an interview. Once this happens I guess I will have a better idea of what I can expect. Until then I shall remain a bundle of excitement with a headfull of possibilities, and wait.

Leave a Reply

